Nerdy but Nice – the ever-faithful Top Ten List… Of Fave Books

Image                               Image

With absolutely no apologies to Letterman’s sad meatgrinder comedic shtick, I thought I’d do the list thing. It’s always a sure-fire way to get people thinking and playing along the same lines, even against their will. It’s a strangely competitive thing for some. It’s an OCD kind of thing for others, who like to remember and keep things in order. For me, it’s a great excuse for people to share the universal loves, the surprises, the eccentric, uber-odd and challenging. I pretend I think it’s a bit dumb, but can seldom keep that pose: A quick scan of anyone else’s list and I’m hooked, intrigued, want to share and want to know.

My hope is that you will share with me – and thus each other – your personal history in books. This is the World Wide Web; there is no end to the potential for discovery and sharing of incredible treasure!

Here goes:

My top-ten children’s books – in no particular order, since I love them all equally.

  • Stig of the Dump – Clive King      Image
  • Marshworld – A.R. Lloyd
  • Silverwing – Kenneth Oppel
  • Smith – Leon Garfield          Image
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – C.S. Lewis
  • Three Men in a Boat – Jerome K. Jerome      Image
  • The Owl Service – Alan Garner                  Image
  • The Weirdstone of Brisingamen – Alan Garner

Top Ten Adult Novels – Also, no particular order. (My mind can’t understand the concept of a Number 1, all-time favourite book…).

I would LOVE it if you would share back – either on your site, or in reply.

Blissful reading, all!

  • Riddley Walker – Russell Hoban

Image

  • Grendel – John Gardner       grendel
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte      Image
  • Slammerkin – Emma Donoghue

Image

  • Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks    Image
  • Tropic of Cancer – Henry Miller

Image

  • Far from the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy   
  • Tess of the D’urbervilles – Thomas Hardy

Image

  • Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov          Image
  • Ulysses – James Joyce      joyce

Nope, sorry – there has to be an eleventh. (I can’t leave any of these out.)

  • Time’s Arrow – Martin Amis    times

I might go mad next week and do a top 100 list of ANY and ALL books I love. I just think I will….

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Nerdy but Nice – the ever-faithful Top Ten List… Of Fave Books

  1. Doing a top ten book, movie or music list is actually quite difficult. No children’s book list as the only one’s I can remember were by Dr. Seuss so the list would be a bit boring. Aldous, your adult list is very literary … Nerdy? Perhaps but it’s an excellent list. I tend to read a lot of thrillers and historical fiction, so my adult list reflects that somewhat.

    So here goes:

    Princess Bride – William Goldman
    Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
    Cold Mountain – Charles Frazier
    December 6 – Martin Cruz Smith
    The Assassin Trilogy by Robert Ferrigno
    – Prayers for the Assassin
    – Sins of the Assassin
    – Heart of the Assassin
    The Killer Angels – Michael Shaara
    Lincoln – Gore Vidal
    Pompeii – Robert Harris

    I kept the list to one per author, although with some of these authors I could have listed two or more. Thus, I reserve the right to add lots of honorable mentions to go along with your top 100 list, starting with Marathon Man – William Goldman and Creation – Gore Vidal.

  2. Those are nice lists Aldous, you remember your favourites so well 🙂 I have to admit I haven’t read none of your listed books, especially the children’s ones I haven’t even heard of. Making my own lists sounds hard… I would have to refresh my memory a bit (which seems to malfunction after having children 🙂 I really like to read and I like novels. I remember in high-school one of my favourites was Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger. And one very good adult-book I liked was Veronica Decides to Dye by P. Coelho.

    • Hi Elina. Good to hear from you. I always love to find comments in my mailbox. It lets me know I’m not living in a vacuum. 🙂 I’ve never hear of Veronica Decides to Dye, although I do know the name of the author, P. Coelho. That will be the next book I search out. Catcher in the Rye really is a brilliant book. I don’t have it on my bookshelves or I would have remembered it for my list. 🙂 Keep posting your incredible photos. They always bring good energy to my day, whatever shape I’m in. Best Aldous

      • You are definitely not in a vacuum Aldous, although maybe sometimes it is even refreshing to be for a while 🙂 I read Veronica Decides to Die about ten years ago… but it stayed in my mind as a book that really spoke to me and brought along interesting thoughts. I’m surprised it is not so well known. Somehow I didn’t manage to get through P. Coelho’s The Alchemist which is/was really popular and praised. I now remembered from earlier childhood all Astrid Lindgren’s books were really enjoyable. Good luck with your writing. And thank you for encouragement, it is a great joy to hear my photos bring good energy 🙂

  3. Great list here, but where is the Mark Twain?

    • Hi Professor
      I haven’t clapped eyes on any Sam Clemens for many a decade. I do think Huck Finn is a masterpiece though.
      I’d love it if you’d send your top ten – or fifty 🙂 I have a feeling you’d come up with some surprises.
      Let’s keep the world literate, page by page!!
      Thanks for commenting. I like comments even better than phone messages. 🙂

      • Not sure if I could do top 50, but….
        1. Innocents Abroad (non-fiction, but a great read)
        2. The Prince and the Pauper (my favorite Twain)
        3. The Connecticut Yankee In King Arthur’s Court
        4. Tom Sawyer
        5. Huck Finn
        6. Puddin’ Head Wilson
        7. Roughing It (once again, non-fiction)
        8. Life on the Mississippi
        9. Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc
        10. A Tramp Abroad

        There are more, but Twain didn’t really write a lot of novels. His short stories are pretty good, though.

        (I know; comments are great!) 🙂

  4. That’s one long Twain. 🙂
    I really will have to get back into him now. His is a remarkable wit.
    Good to ‘hear’ from you.

Leave a Reply

